Year of Youth 2018

Aberdeen, United Kingdom

Diocese Figures

Rt. Rev. Peter Moran
Apostolic Administrator
Fr. Hugh Gilbert, O.S.B
Bishop Elect
Fr. Keith Herrera
Vocations Diretor



Latest News

On July 24th 2012, Pope Benedict XVI appointed Bishop Philip Tartaglia (until now Bishop of Paisley) as Archbishop of Glasgow. The new Archbishop will succeed Most Rev Mario Joseph Conti, who has been Archbishop since 22 February 2002.

About Our Diocese

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Aberdeen covers a third of the landmass of Scotland. It encompasses more than 70 parishes and Mass centres throughout Aberdeenshire, Moray, the Highlands and the Orkney and Shetland Islands of Scotland.

The history of the diocese goes back to the end of the 6th century when, as tradition has it, St Machar established a Christian Community between the River Don and the River Dee.

The See of Aberdeen was founded at Mortlach in 1063. It transferred to Aberdeen before 1131/2, under its fourth bishop, Nectan; and was vacant for 301 years from the death of Bishop William Gordon, in 1577, till the Restoration of the Hierarchy, in 1878.

The present Diocese of Aberdeen covers the areas of five pre-Reformation dioceses, viz. Orkney, Caithness, Ross, Moray and Aberdeen.

The Diocesan administrative headquarters are based in Aberdeen, which is also home to the Cathedral of St Mary of the Assumption.

The diocesan motto is "Together in Christ".

Official URL:

The Latest

There are no events for this diocese.